Log In    |    Join IASS    |    Online Journal    |    Proceedings    |    Directory    |    Events    |    News


Saturday, October 21, 2017
New Working Group on Advanced Manufacturing & Materials

The IASS Executive Council has approved the formation of a new working group, WG 21 Advanced Manufacturing and Materials.  The founding chair and co-chair are Arno Pronk (The Netherlands) and John Orr (UK), respectively.
See http://www.iass-structures.org/index.cfm/page/TechAct/WG21.htm for more information.

Friday, October 20, 2017
Hangai Prize 2018: Call for Entries

The next round of the Hangai Prize competition is for the IASS 2018 Symposium to be held in Boston, USA, 16-20 July 2018, at MIT. New this year, to apply the full paper with the applicant as the first or sole author should be uploaded to the Symposium online application and uploading website by 31 January 2018 (no extensions possible!). For details, see ....

Friday, October 20, 2017
IASS 2018: Call for Organized Sessions, Workshops & Master Classes

November 15, 2017 is the deadline for submission of proposals for Organized Sessions, Workshops and Master Classes for the 2018 Annual Symposium, "Creativity in Structural Design" to be held July 16-20 at MIT, Boston, USA.  For details and instructions, see ....
See http://www.iass2018.org/submissions/ for more information.

Monday, October 16, 2017
IASS Hangai Prizes for 2017

At the IASS 2017 Symposium in Hamburg, the following Hangai Prizes were conferred and the winning papers were presented in plenary sessions:

  • Ya Feng Wang (China): "Finding generalized and customized tensegrity systems by MILP-based topology optimization"
  • Tim Michiels (USA): "Parametric study of masonry shells form-found for seismic loading"
  • Hiromi Yasuda (USA): "Tunable frequency band structure of origami-based mechanical metamaterials"
  • Romain Mesnil (

Monday, October 16, 2017
IASS Honors Conferred in 2017 & Set for 2018

During the IASS 2017 Symposium in Hamburg, IASS Honorary Membership was conferred upon Brian Smith (UK) and Tibor Tarnai (Hungary).  Each addressed the participants in a plenary session.

The IASS Executive Council voted to confer the Eduardo Torroja Medal upon Hoshyar Nooshin (UK) at the IASS 2018 Symposium in Boston, USA.

See http://www.iass-structures.org/index.cfm/page/Hist/HisHon.htm for more information.

Monday, October 16, 2017
IASS Tsuboi Awards Announced in 2017

The following Tsuboi Awards for 2016 were conferred at the IASS 2017 Symposium in Hamburg:

  • For the best paper in the Jouirnal of the IASS: J. Abramczyk (Poland): "Integrated Building Forms Covered with Effectively Transformed Folded Sheets"
  • For the best paper in the Proceedings of IASS 2016: K. Noda, Y. Kanebako (Japan): "Structural Design of a Building with Shell and Flat Slab Hybrids"

Monday, October 16, 2017
New Default Journal Subscription: Electronic Version

Effective January 1, 2018 the default journal subscription for all categories of members will be the electronic version. Those categories which are eligible (Individual, Senior, and Honorary members and Chapter Representatives) will have the option to receive the printed version as well but at a cost of 50 € per year.

Monday, October 16, 2017
Results of 2017 IASS Elections

  • By ballot of the membership, the following were elected to 3-year terms on the Executive Council: S. M. Adriaenssens, K.-U. Bletzinger, J. C. Chilton, J. G. Oliva Salinas, R. M. Pauletti, and T. Takeuchi.
  • The Executive Council elected P. Block to fill the remaining one year of the term vacated by R. Motro; and the EC co-opted N. De Temmerman for an initial 3-year term.
  • C. Lazaro was re-elected to a three-year term as Vice President, while M. Osaki was elected Treasurer to fill the

Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Working Group on "Temporary Spatial Structures" releases Design Guidelines

Structural Design Guidelines for Temporary Spatial Structures, the final report of WG 19, has been posted among the resources on the WG 19 page that is restricted to IASS members, who must log in to access it under the right-menu item "Working Group Details."

Friday, October 01, 2010
IASS Website: Log-In Info for Members, Reviewers & Subscribers

Each Member/Reviewer/Subscriber must have a User Name and Password to log in to the members-only portion of the website.  Members/Reviewers/Subscribers cannot be issued Passwords unless they have a current Email address on file in the IASS secure member database; if you do not, please send it to iass@cedex.es.  Your User Name is either your Email address (most probable) or your <forename><surname> [no space, no brackets].  For remedies and further advice, see

© IASS All rights reserved.
IASS · CEDEX - Laboratorio Central de Estructuras y Materiales · C/ Alfonso XII, 3 · 28014 Madrid, Spain     tel. 34 91 335-7409; fax: 335-7422
Site Design & Programming
by World Design Group, Inc.