international association for shell and spatial structures

Below is the full list of the IASS News          Twitter

  • 24 Feb 2022 23:50 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    The deadline for submission of abstracts for IASS/APCS 2022 has been extended from the original date of 31 January to 31 March. Note that this extension applies also to Hangai Prize applicants (see Hangai Prize Page).

    For more information, see either the symposium website or the appropriate entry in the Events page of this website.

  • 20 Feb 2022 22:24 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    A decision has been made to hold the IASS/APCS 2022 Symposium in hybrid online and in-person format. All delegates from outside China should pay the online registration fee, and then pay the remaining fee if and when they have met the requirements and can enter in accordance with China's epidemic prevention regulations.

    The earlybird registration deadline is 30 June 2022. See the symposium website for full information about registration and the fee structure, including reduced fees for IASS members.

  • 31 Oct 2021 20:10 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    At the 2021 Annual Symposium, the Tsuboi Award for the best paper in the Journal of the IASS in 2020 was conferred to:

    Ch. Robeller and N. von Haaren (Germany): "Recycleshell: Wood-only Shell Structures Made From Cross-Laminated Timber (CLT) Production Waste," J. IASS, Vol. 61 (2020) No. 2, n. 204 June, pp. 125-138.

    There was only one award for 2020, because the Symposium award was not conferred since the 2020 symposium was postponed until 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

  • 31 Oct 2021 19:59 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    The Hangai Prize Committee announced the winners of the 19th Hangai Prize, and their papers were presented at the 2021 Annual Symposium:

    • Ting-Uei Lee (Australia): "From ruled surfaces to elastica-ruled surfaces: New possibilities for creating architectural forms"

    • Kotaro Sempuku (Japan): "Self-folding rigid origami based on auxetic kirigami"
    • Xiuming Liu (China): "Study on thermal damage of large-span ice shell structure based on thermal-mechanical coupling"
    • Qian Zhang (China): "Programmable and reconfigurable surfaces with kirigami-inspired bistable elements"

    The papers will be included in the December 2021 issue of the Journal of the IASS.

    Congratulations to all the winners!

  • 8 Aug 2021 19:13 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    At the annual meeting of the IASS Executive Council held in virtual form on 5 August 2021, the following honors were approved and announced:

    Eduardo Torroja Medal for Past President Sergio PELLEGRINO, to be formally conferred at the 2022 Annual Symposium.

    Honorary Memberships for the following:

    • José Manuel GÁLLIGO ESTEVEZ, to be conferred at the 2021 Symposium
    • Yeong-Bin YANG, to be conferred at the 2022 Symposium
    • John CHILTON, to be conferred at the 2022 Symposium
  • 8 Aug 2021 19:00 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    At the Executive Council meeting held in virtual form on 5 August 2021, the following new officers of the Association were elected:

    • President for a three-year term: Carlos LÁZARO
    • Executive Vice President from the Administrative Organization: Pilar ALAEJOS GUTIÉRREZ
    • Vice President for a three-year term: Sigrid ADRIAENSSENS
    • Vice President for a two-year term to fill the position vacated by the election of the new President: Ruy Marcelo de Oliveira PAULETTI
  • 8 Aug 2021 18:34 | John ABEL (Administrator)

    The annual Executive Council meeting was held this year in a virtual form on 5 August 2021.

    The Executive Council approved the results of the annual election for renewal of one third of IASS Executive Council. The following members of the Executive Council were elected for 3-year terms:

    • Philippe BLOCK (re-elected)
    • Su-Duo XUE (re-elected)
    • Olga POPOVIC-LARSEN (re-elected)
    • Olivier BAVEREL (newly elected, formerly co-opted)
    • Alireza BEHNEJAD (re-elected)
    • Annette BÖGLE (re-elected)

    In addition, at the meeting, the EC co-opted the following to 3-year terms:

    • Charis GANTES
    • Yi-Min (Mike) XIE

    And the following former EC members were elected to the Advisory Board:

    • Alberto DOMINGO
    • José Manuel GÁLLIGO
  • 2 Jul 2021 20:37 | Romuald TARCZEWSKI (Administrator)

    This is the special issue on “Computational Methods for Shell and Spatial Structures” prepared by WG13, and contains eight technical papers. Access to the PDF of the full issue is through the Publications Gateway of this website. The issue will be available soon on the Ingenta website in the usual form.

  • 1 Apr 2021 22:48 | Romuald TARCZEWSKI (Administrator)

    The issue contains four technical papers and two book reviews. Access to the PDF of the full issue is through the Publications Gateway of this website. The issue will be available soon on the Ingenta website in the usual form.

  • 12 Feb 2021 14:38 | Romuald TARCZEWSKI (Administrator)

    Now, balloting for the annual EC Elections and Referendum is open on the Association website
    from February 15 (00:00 CET) through March 14 (24:00 CET).

    After logging in, select MEMBER TOOLS from the top menu and then BALLOTING.

    Only Individual, Honorary and Senior members as well as Chapter and Collective representatives (bundle adminstrators) are eligible to vote.

    The following membership levels are not eligible to vote:
    Student, Awardee, Chapter affiliates, Collective affiliates

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software