Log In    |    Join IASS    |    Online Journal    |    Proceedings    |    Directory    |    Events    |    News

IASS Honors and Awards

The Association recognizes outstanding individuals in the following four ways.  Further information about each of these honors and awards as well as lists of previous recipients are given in the associated web pages. 

Honorary Members are Individual or Senior members with a distinguished record of outstanding achievement in the field of shell and/or spatial structures, and/or have rendered exceptional service to the Association.  Honorary members are selected by vote of the Executive Council.  On the average, one new Honorary Member is named each year. 

Torroja Medal: The Executive Council may from time to time award the Eduardo Torroja Medal to a member of nonmember of the Association in recognition of outstanding and distinguished contributions to design, construction or research of shell and/or spatial structures.  On the average, one new Torroja medalist is named every two years. 

Tsuboi Awards are awarded annually in two categories:

  • For the most meritorious paper published in the Journal of the IASS in the preceding calendar year.
  • For the most outstanding paper presented and published in the Proceedings of the previous year's annual IASS Symposium. 

Hangai Prizes annually recognize talented young researchers, designers, and engineers working in the field of shell and/or spatial structures.  This recognition is achieved by selecting outstanding submissions to the Annual IASS Symposium in the form of research papers, resumes of design projects, or presentations of innovative ideas. 


[This page last updated 29 September 2016.]



© IASS All rights reserved.
IASS · CEDEX - Laboratorio Central de Estructuras y Materiales · C/ Alfonso XII, 3 · 28014 Madrid, Spain     tel. 34 91 335-7409; fax: 335-7422
Site Design & Programming
by World Design Group, Inc.